Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required Email Address * First Name Last Name

What is the Academy of Motion Pictures & Sciences and How Does one Become a Member?


The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) is a professional honorary organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences  of motion pictures. Nowadays, it’s mainly dedicated to the motion picture industry. The Academy’s corporate management and policies are overseen by a Board of Governors. With almost 6,000 members,  the majority of them are based in the United States. The Academy is recognized around the world for its annual Acadmey Awards, aka The Oscars.

According to a February 2012 study conducted by the Los Angeles Times (sampling over 5,000 of its 5,765 members), the Academy is 94% white, 77% male, 14% under the age of 50, and has a median age of 62. In addition, 33% of members are previous winners or nominees of Academy Awards themselves.

To become a member, you must be invited by the board of governors. Membership eligibility can be attained by being nominated for an Oscar or by having an existing member submit based only your significant contribution to the motion picture industry.

Check out their website:

The Academy is broken up into 17 branches:

  • Actors
  • Casting Directors (created July 31, 2013)
  • Cinematographers
  • Costume Designers (created from former Art Directors Branch)
  • Designers (created from former Art Directors Branch)
  • Directors
  • Documentary
  • Executives
  • Film Editors
  • Makeup Artists and Hairstylists
  • Music
  • Producers
  • Public Relations
  • Short Films and Feature Animation
  • Sound
  • Visual Effects
  • Writers



Leave A Reply